BPS runners hit Back Bay roads

With the eight city and town along the Boston Marathon’s 26.2-mile course each represented by two runners in today’s third annual Boston Athletic Association Scholastic Invitational Mile, Robert Finch noted how stiff the suburban competition was after clocking a time of 5 minutes and 20.2 seconds to finish 15th.

“I didn’t finish last,” said the Boston Latin Academy junior from West Roxbury. “Although I wasn’t the best guy I’m the Boston guy.”

He wasn’t the only Boston guy, however.  Boston Latin senior Nick D’Agostino finished in 12th place with a time of 5:06.6.

“I haven’t done a lot of speed work this season but it was still cool to come out here and be part of the Marathon,” said the Jamaica Plain resident who will run cross country and track for Colby College next year.

D’Agostino’s teammate, Kathleen Mello, participated in the girls race and finished 13th with a time of 5:47.4. Mello qualified for All-States this winter in indoor track after setting a personal best in the mile (5:22) but had to sit out due to injury.

“I was just looking to go out and get back into racing,” said Mello, who finished sixth in the event last year and hopes to walk onto the Northeastern track team next year. “Right now I’m just getting back into track. I knew I wouldn’t put in an all out effort. I’m just getting back the feel.”

Like Finch, Mello also lays her head in West Roxbury, home to the Corrib 5K.

“That’s my favorite race,” Finch said of the race that convinced him to pursue high school track. “It’s a great community experience. Everyone in the whole town roots you on and I love all the free food even though I’m so tired I don’t want to eat it.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

